How to Block Someone on Facebook – Block a Friend on Facebook
Blocking someone on Facebook disconnects you from the blocked user automatically. This simply means that you will no longer exist to them. On the other hand, they will no longer exist to you. There might be many reasons why you might want to or be seeking to block someone on Facebook. It might be because someone is bothering you online, or you don’t want to speak to the person. Also, it could be a disturbance and you need to put a stop to it.
It could be that you’re tired of your friend’s constant posts. Alternatively, it could be that you’ve seen videos of your friends that you don’t like. Or worst still that you are angry at a friend in real life and want some space. Blocking is therefore the best option. When done, the person will not be able to enter your news feed. And as well, your content won’t be served to them and they won’t be able to send you messages.
How to Block Someone on Facebook
Facebook doesn’t send a notification when you block someone on the app. However, when you block someone the person will be removed from your friend list. Blocking someone on Facebook is not permanent; you can always unblock a person whenever you want.
What Happens When You Block Someone on Facebook?
Before blocking someone on Facebook, let’s see some things first. I’m sure you would want to know what will happen when you block someone on Facebook. When you block someone on Facebook, all your old posts will be hidden from them. Likewise, likes and comments will be hidden from their view. In the same manner, they won’t be able to see your post on their timeline or anywhere else.
Everything about you and the blocked user will disappear automatically. However, they will still be visible to others. Blocking someone hides your profile from each other only. As a result, you won’t be able to access their Facebook profile page. Neither you nor the blocked user will be able to create a new post on each other’s timeline when blocked.
In addition, both of you won’t be able to see each other’s posts and comments on the mutual pages then. The blocked person won’t be able to search for your profile on Facebook at the period. Therefore, you will not appear on the search results. On the other hand, if you search for the person you blocked the will not appear in your search result also.
You won’t also be able to tag the blocked user. And in the same vein, nor can they tag you. When a mutual friend tags any of you the other person will not see the tag or their name. The blocked user won’t also be able to view your stories. Neither can they add you to a new group. As a matter of fact, both of you will lose the power to converse. That is, you cannot call or message each other on messenger in private chats.
Steps on How to Block Someone on Facebook
You may wonder what happens when you block someone on the Facebook app. You may also be wondering how to go about it. The steps on how to block someone on Facebook are easy to follow. Simply follow them carefully as listed below:
- First, go to Facebook. comand log in to your Facebook account. Alternatively, you can open your Facebook app
- Then click in the top right of Facebook.
- Now, select Settings and Privacy and click on Settings in the options that appear
- Click Blocking in the menu that drops down
- You will have to select the kind of blocking you want to do at this stage
- Type in the name of the person you want to block in the space provided and click Block.
- A pop up will come in asking if you want to block the person or take a break
- Click on Block if you still want to and the person will be blocked.
The Facebook block can be likened to closing a door on someone’s online presence. When this is done, they will not be able to see your posts, updates, or comments.